Oct 28, 2011

Texas Bluebonnet Award - 2012 - 2013 Master List

The 2012-13 Texas Bluebonnet Award Master List was announced this Saturday, October 22 at the Texas Book Festival in Austin. The books are chosen by librarians, teachers, and home school associations. Children from all over Texas vote for the winning book. Last year, over 187,000 kids voted for The Uglified Ducky by Willie Claflin. Here is the Master List for 2012-2013. This program is aimed for children in grades 3-6.

All of the book covers will take you to the Goodreads page so you are able to learn more about each title.

Arnosky, Jim. 2011. Thunder Birds: Nature's Flying Predators

Cardillo, Margaret. 2011. Just Being Audrey. Illustrated by Julia Denos.

Deedy, Carmen Agra and Randall Wright. 2011. The Cheshire Cheese Cat: A Dickens of a Tale. Illustrated by Barry Moser

Durango, Julia. 2010. Under the Mambo Moon. Illustrated by Fabricio VandenBroeck.

Fleming, Candace. 2010. Clever Jack Takes the Cake. Illustrated by G. Brian Karas. 

Hatke, Ben. 2010. Zita the Spacegirl. 

Jonell, Lynne. 2010. Hamster Magic. Illustrated by Brandon Dorman

Kennedy, Kim. 2010. Misty Gordon and the Mystery of the Ghost Pirates. Illustrated by Greg Call. 

Lupica, Mike. 2010. Hero.

McElligott, Matthew and Larry Tuxbury. 2010. Benjamin Franklinstein Lives! Illustrated by Matthew McElligott.

Ramsey, Calvin A. 2010. Ruth and the Green Book. Illustrated by Floyd Cooper.

Selznick, Brian. 2011. Wonderstruck.

Smith, Clete Barrett. 2011. Aliens on Vacation. Illustrated by Christian Slade. 

Sternberg, Julie. 2011. Like Pickle Juice on a Cookie. Illustrated by Matthew Cordell. 

Swaim, Jessica. 2010. Scarum Fair. Illustrated by Carol Ashley.

Sylver, Adrienne. 2010. Hot Diggity Dog: The History of the Hot Dog. Illustrated by Elwood H. Smith. 

Taback, Simms. 2011. Postcards from Camp

Warner, Sally. 2011. EllRay Jakes is Not a Chicken. Illustrated by Jamie Harper.

Weinstein, Muriel Harris. 2010. Play, Louis, Play: The True Story of a Boy and His Horn Frank Morrison

Yohalem, Eve. 2009. Escape Under the Forever Sky

Learn more about the award HERE